All entries for Saturday 07 May 2005
May 07, 2005
Writing about web page http://www2.warwick.ac.uk/about/tour/archaeology/
Warwick's campus covers 290 hectares of land, and lies in the valley of Canley Brook draining red, heavy clay soils. We know that it has been occupied since Neolithic times, and that pottery was made using local clay and charcoal from Tocil Woods. In the Middle Ages it formed part of the royal hunting estate at Stoneleigh, and some of the land was granted by Henry II to Cistercian monks in 1155. After the dissolution of the monasteries in the 16th century, the land was enclosed and took on many of the features evident to this day. The area covers four medieval farmsteads, whose names are still preserved in our modern campus: Tocil, Cryfield, Cryfield Grange and Gibbet Hill.
This Web-log contains image galleries illustrating several sites of archaeological interest on the Warwick campus, including:
- a Mesolithic landscape
- a Bronze Age Barrow and Roundhouse
- two substantial Iron Age settlements
- a Roman site
- Medieval waterworks, pottery and watermills.
Use the Gallery links in the left-hand margin to explore these images.
The Web-log accompanies an online Archaeological Tour of campus. The Warwick 4000 web-log and the Archaeological Tour were created by the Warwick 4000 Project, funded by the Warwick 40 Committee, Campus Archaeology, E-Lab, and the 3D Visualisation Centre. The Project was launched on Saturday 7th May 2005 as part of the Warwick 40 celebrations.