December 27, 2004

Bloc Party is certainly on a roll with regards to the ‘New Artist Spotlight’ feature on its homepage. In the recent past, mentions have gone out to Joanna Newsom, Aberfeldy, and 90 Day Men with the most recent recepient being Bloc Party.

Equally inspired by Sonic Youth, Joy Division, Gang of Four and the Cure, South London art-punkers Bloc Party mix angular sonics with pop structures. Consisting of singer/guitarist Kele Okereke, guitarist Russell Lissack, bassist/singer Gordon Moakes, and drummer Matt Tong, the band was formerly known as Angel Range and Union before settling on Bloc Party. states that the debut album, Silent Alarm will be released on Feburary 14th 2005. The debut was looking particularly promising after their September release of the Bloc Party EP and preliminary listening via non-official channels confirms expectations.

- No comments Not publicly viewable

Add a comment

You are not allowed to comment on this entry as it has restricted commenting permissions.

December 2004

Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su
|  Today  | Jan
      1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31      

Search this blog



Most recent comments

  • i like muff on toast by guildy on this entry
  • hairs :P by Peter hairs on this entry
  • Incest hairs by michael lumsden on this entry
  • incest thursday every day with mary!! by michael lumsden on this entry
  • I like maureen by Neil duncan on this entry

Blog archive

Not signed in
Sign in

Powered by BlogBuilder